European Festival Awards 2015: Shortlists Announced

European Festival Awards 2015: Shortlists Announced

The European Festival Awards 2015 shortlists have been announced, with a few surprises in amongst the usual suspects. Tomorrowland will take some beating once again, while Romania's Untold Festival looks to have made a big impact in its debut year.

Meanwhile in the artists' categories, alt-J and Florence and the Machine will be favourites for Festival Anthem of the Year, and Hozier's double nomination (Anthem and Newcomer of the Year) is recognition of the Irish singer-songwriter's meteoric rise.

Festicket CEO Zack Sabban: "Congratulations to all of our festival partners whose hard work and amazing success have been recognised today! Here's to an incredible 2015, and many more years like it to come."

The winners will be announced at the European Festival Awards gala ceremony, in Groningen, The Netherlands on Wednesday 13 January 2016.

Best Major Festival

In association with Charge Candy

Deichbrand Festival (Germany)
Dour Festival (Belgium)
Exit Festival (Serbia)
Graspop Metal Meeting (Belgium)
Mysteryland (Netherlands)
Pinkpop (Netherlands)
Rock Werchter (Belgium)
Sziget Festival (Hungary)
Tomorrowland (Belgium)
Untold Festival (Romania)


Best Medium-Sized Festival
In association with Eventbrite

Wish Outdoor (Netherlands)
Telekom Volt Festival (Hungary)
Solar Weekend (Netherlands)
Sea Dance Festival (Montenegro)
Positivus Festival (Latvia)
Open Air St. Gallen (Switzerland)
Main Square Festival (France)
Lovefest (Serbia)
Les Ardentes (Belgium)
Electric Castle Festival (Romania)


Best Small Festival

Amsterdam Woods (Netherlands)
B My Lake (Hungary)
Festival Tauron Nowa Muzyka (Poland)
Happiness Festival (Germany)
Hideout (Croatia)
Into The Great Wide Open (Netherlands)
Jazz In The Park (Romania)
Mini-Rock Festival (Germany)
Plai (Romania)
Vestrock (Netherlands)
Your’In Festival (Belgium)


Best New Festival

Amsterdam Woods (Netherlands)
Creamfields Ibiza (Spain)
I Love Techno Europe (France)
Krakow Live Festival (Poland)
Lollapalooza Berlin (Germany)
Parookaville (Germany)
Untold Festival (Romania)


Best Indoor Festival

Blues In Hell (Norway)
Incubate Festival (Netherlands)
Le Printemps De Bourges (France)
Les Heures Ind (Belgium)
Les Transardentes (Belgium)
Lokerse Feesten (Belgium)
Mayday (Germany)
[Pias Nites] (Various Countries)
Progpower Europe (Netherlands)
TIMAF (Romania)


Festival Anthem Of The Year

alt-J – Left Hand Free
Florence and The Machine – Ship To Wreck
Hozier – Take Me To Church
Major Lazor – Lean On
Pattie Smith – People Have The Power
Rudimental – Never Let You Go
Tame Impala – Let It Happen
The Prodigy – The Day is my Enemy
Wanda – Amore
Years and Years – King


Newcomer Of The Year
In association with Eurosonic Noorderslag

Jack Garratt
James Bay
Kate Tempest
Royal Blood
Run the Jewels
Wolf Alice
Years & Years


Best Headliner

Chemical Brothers
Florence and the Machine
Foo Fighters
Kendrick Lamar
Kylie Minogue
Robbie Williams
The Prodigy


Best Line-Up

Best Kept Secret (Netherlands)
Glastonbury (United Kingdom)
Graspop Metal Meeting (Belgium)
La Route Du Rock (France)
Lollapalooza Berlin (Germany)
Oya Festivalen (Norway)
Primavera Sound Festival (Spain)
Rock Werchter (Belgium)
Roskilde (Denmark)
Sziget (Hungary)


Artists’ Favourite Festival

BBK Live (Spain)
Best Kept Secret (Netherlands)
Exit Festival (Serbia)
Highfield (Germany)
Latitude (United Kingdom)
Les Viellies Charues (France)
Lowlands (Netherlands)
Pukkelpop (Belgium)
Rock Werchter (Belgium)
Sziget (Hungary)

Promoter Of The Year
In association with Bucks New University

Green Man Team (United Kingdom)
Ejekt (Greece)
Festival Republic (United Kingdom)
FKP Scorpio (Germany)
Hörstmann Unternehmensgruppe (Germany)
ICS (Germany)
From The Fields (United Kingdom)
Live Nation (United Kingdom)
Live Nation (Belgium)
Primavera (Spain)


Agent of the Year

Emma Banks (CAA)
Alex Bruford (ATC Live)
Isla Angus (Earth Agency)
Jason Edwards (Coda)
Mike Greek (CAA)
Natasha Bent (United Artists)
Nick Matthews (Coda)
Rob Challice (Coda)
Solomon Parker (Coda)
Tom Schroeder (Coda)


Green Operations Award 
In association with Yourope and the GO Group

Ieper Hardcore Fest (Belgium)
Off Festival (Poland)
Open Air St. Gallen (Switzerland)
Shambala (United Kingdom)
Tollwood Festival (Germany)


Sign up to Festicket newsletter and you’ll get festival offers and recommendations direct to your inbox. We’ll also keep you updated with the latest festival news and features from Festicket Magazine.